Recreational marijuana is officially legal in the state of California, marking a major milestone in the legalization movement. But before you buy your plane ticket or move to Cali, there are still a few things you should know about the state’s new cannabis laws. Here are five important things to know:
1. You Must Be at Least 21 Years Old
While you can buy cigarettes and join the military at age 18, you still won’t be able to purchase legal marijuana in California until you’re 21-years-old. However, if you’re 18 to 20, you can still obtain a medical marijuana ID card and purchase medicinal cannabis in the state.
2. No Smoking in Public
Recreational marijuana may be legal, but using it in public is not. Even in areas where smoking cigarettes is legal, public use of cannabis will result in a fine between $100 and $250.
3. You Just Need an ID
In order to purchase recreational marijuana, all you need is a valid government-issued ID. It doesn’t have to be from the state of California either.
4. You’re Allowed Six Marijuana Plants in Your Home
According to California law, if you’re 21 or older, you’re allowed to grow up to six marijuana plants in your home. The plants only need to be kept out of public view. Also if there are multiple adults in your home, you’re still only allowed six plants for your entire household. It should be noted that some local governments have different rules when it comes to homegrown marijuana.
5. You Can Still Be Tested for Marijuana at Your Job
Recreational marijuana is legal, so you can use it without any repercussions, right? Well, not exactly. State law still says the employers can still test workers and job applicants for marijuana, and that they’re still allowed to fire or deny someone their job based on a positive test. So brush up on your company’s rules before hitting the bong.