The History of Marijuana in Missouri

Missouri has a history with marijuana that dates back to the early 1900s, when there was a nationwide trend to prohibit the drug, Missouri joined by banning all forms of cannabis. The state was harsh enforcing  the death penalty for anyone charged with selling marijuana to minors. Anyone charged with second possession offense faced life in jail, but the state spent less than $1,000 to fund and enforce the legislation to outlaw marijuana.

Missouri also joined another marijuana trend toward the end of the century though, when governments began to respond to pressure from patients and physicians by introducing the first laws to make marijuana available for medical use.  Missouri introduced this legislation in 1994, becoming the 35th state to do so, but the law was difficult to enforce because marijuana wasn’t recognized as medicine under federal law. So many states, including Missouri, gave up of their medical marijuana efforts, until 2014, when the state signed into law the Missouri Medical Marijuana Bill, allowing patients with severe seizures to access CBD oil. That same year, lawmakers reduced penalties for those possessing up to 10 grams of marijuana in a massive bill revising the state’s criminal codes, so advocates in Missouri continue to fight for legalization statewide.

Latest.

Nowadays, would your parents still be upset if they caught you consuming cannabis? Parents these days have much more progressive opinions on cannabis, and perhaps if they caught their kids consuming, they wouldn't necessarily punish them. While some parents still want their children to wait until the legal age to consume (if they choose to do so, at all), others don't believe it would be the end of the world if they "caught" their kids smoking pot earlier than that.

Can we see some ID please?

You must be 19 years of age or older to enter.