While several states in the South have made motions to legalize the use of cannabis, North Carolina is behind on the times.
Residents and visitors caught with any amount of marijuana in North Carolina will be faced with punishments including incarceration, fines, or forced drug addiction treatment. Even those holding smaller amounts of marijuana can potentially be facing fines up to $2,000. In fact, possession of 0.5 to 1.5 ounces of cannabis is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punishable with 1 to 45 days in prison and a fine of $1,000. These punishments and crimes increase depending on the amount of cannabis, the intentions of the arrested party, and who the arrested party was planning on selling the cannabis
With such strict punishments in place for carrying minor amounts of cannabis, the public has responded with a strong push for more accepting laws. As a result, there is currently a bill in place, that if passed would allow for residents of North Carolina to purchase medicinal marijuana with the proper certification. The bill is still working its way through the legislative process, however, if the bill passes patients will have to have their physician certify that they have one or more medical conditions found on the qualifying medical
The passing of this bill would make a large difference in the lives of many patients who currently cannot receive the treatment they need. In some