If you live in New Mexico or you plan to spend some time in the Land of Enchantment, you might be wondering how old you have to be to smoke weed. At the time of this writing, only medical marijuana (MM) is legal in New Mexico, as medical cannabis has been allowed since the state passed the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act (Senate Bill 523) in 2007. States residents didn't vote in favor of passing any of the marijuana policy reform bills introduced during the state's 2017 legislative session, so only adults who are at least 18 years old and have a state-issued MM card can smoke weed (or consume cannabis in any way) in New Mexico.

New Mexico residents who are at least 18 years of age and have one of a few qualifying medical conditions can get an MM card from the state. This card allows them to buy cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries and smoke weed legally in the privacy of their own home, as the state prohibits the consumption of marijuana in dispensaries or anywhere in public. Patients under 18 years of age, however, must have their healthcare practitioner appoint a primary caregiver (a New Mexico resident who is at least 18 years old at meets several background requirements) to take responsibility for managing the minor's cannabis medicine.

Medical cannabis users in New Mexico who are at least 18 years old can buy up to eight ounces of marijuana over a 90-day period, which they can smoke or use to make edibles, extracts, and tinctures. They can also apply for a personal production (PP) card, which gives them the right to grow up to 16 cannabis plants (four mature and 12 seedlings at a time) at their primary residence.

In ending, remember that it's illegal to smoke weed behind the wheel of any motorized vehicle or transport medical marijuana across the state lines of New Mexico, or you risk federal fines and jail time. You can get more information on the MM program and policies about smoking weed in the Land of Enchantment by consulting the New Mexico Department of Health.