Whether you're a resident of Alaska or you're visiting the Land of the Midnight Sun for the first time, you may be wondering how old you have to be to smoke weed in America's northernmost state. Simply put, Alaska allows anyone with a government-issued identification proving he or she is at least 21 years old to smoke weed and consume cannabis within the state's borders.

Alaska was one of the first states to follow California in legalizing medical marijuana, with residents voting to allow cannabis use for medical purposes in 1998. It then followed Colorado's lead to end the prohibition of recreational marijuana use when residents voted to pass Ballot Measure 2 in 2014 and allow adults at least 21 years old to use cannabis at their leisure. The state is even considering regulations that will allow the on-site consumption of cannabis in marijuana cafes, “coffee shops,” and retail stores.  

In Alaska, any adult who is at least 21 years old can buy up to one ounce of usable cannabis at a time, have up to one ounce of the herb on their person, and keep up to four ounces in one's home. Cannabis users can also grow up to six cannabis plants at his or her private residence, though only three plants can be in flower at a time. Adults can give away flowers they grow to other individuals who are at least 21 years old, but you can't sell them for profit or transport them across state lines.

However, it's still illegal to smoke weed and consume cannabis in public spaces or on federal lands, and different communities within Alaska may have even more restrictive laws, so be sure to check local regulations. It's also illegal to smoke weed (or be under the herb's influence in any way) while driving a car, snowmobile, boat, or any other motorized vehicle in Alaska, even if you're 21 years old.

To end, you can consult the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services to learn more about the rules about smoking weed and consuming marijuana within the state's borders.