Even if you know that only medical marijuana (MM) is legal in Vermont at the moment, you may still be unclear about how old you have to be to smoke weed in the Green Mountain State. Vermont residents voted in favor of the Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness, so since 2004, adults at least 18 years of age with a state-issued MM card have been able to smoke weed (or otherwise consume cannabis) within the state's borders.
Legal Age to Smoke Weed in Vermont with a MM Card
Vermont permits MM patients who are at least 18 years old to possess up to two ounces of usable cannabis, which they can smoke or use to make edibles, extracts, and tinctures and up to nine plants (two mature and seven immature) for personal consumption. Patients who want to use cannabis but are not yet 18 years old, however, must have a legal parent or guardian apply for their MM card and purchase/administer their medicine for them.
Where Can You Legally Smoke Weed in Vermont
However, just because you're an 18-year-old resident with a valid MM card doesn't mean you can smoke anywhere you want. The Green Mountain State currently limits cannabis consumption to private residences and prohibits it from anywhere considered a public space, but if Governor Phil Scott signs a recreational marijuana legislation bill (which has already been approved by the Vermont House of Representatives and state Senate) that could quickly change. Not only would 21-year-old adults be allowed to purchase marijuana at their leisure, but the bill would allow for legal “cannabis clubs” and other private establishments that would permit the open use of marijuana on their premises.
To end, it's important to remember that even if you're 18 and allowed to smoke weed in Vermont, you can't consume cannabis or be under the herb's influence while behind the wheel of any motorized vehicle. Also, MM patients at least 18 years age must smoke all their weed while within Vermont's borders, as it's still illegal to transport cannabis across state lines or you risk federal fines and even time in jail. You can learn more about Vermont's rules that allow 18-year-old medical patients to smoke weed or joining the state's Marijuana Registry by contacting the Vermont Department of Public Safety.