Even though cannabis has been decriminalized in the Constitution State since 2011, and medical marijuana (MM) legalized in 2012, you might still be unclear about how old you have to be to smoke weed in Connecticut. Adults in Connecticut who are at least 21 years old and caught with less than ½ ounce of cannabis are subject to a $150 fine and a civil penalty rather than jail time and a criminal record, as long as you're not smoking weed out in public and it's your first offense.

To use medical cannabis in Connecticut, you must be at least 18 years of age, a state resident, and have a recommendation from a physician practicing in the Constitution State. Minors under the age of 18 that have a qualifying medical condition must have recommendations from two state-licensed physicians and appoint a legal parent or guardian to act as a caregiver. However, unlike other states where medical marijuana is legal, your MM card will never expire.

Since January of 2016, patients have been able to go to one of a few state-licensed dispensaries to buy medical cannabis products, but common street names for different marijuana strains aren't allowed, so different cannabis varieties are identified as numbered cultivars. The current purchase limit for MM patients in Connecticut is 2.5 ounces per month, and the state doesn't yet allow patients to grow their own medicine.

However, the Nutmeg State doesn't recognize MM cards from other states, and all patients must register with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. You also don't have the liberty to smoke weed in public just because you're an 18-year-old with an MM card, as the state limits the consumption of medical cannabis products to private residences.

To end, keep in mind that even if you're of age to smoke weed in Connecticut, you can't consume cannabis or be under the influence of marijuana while you're operating a motorized vehicle, and it's still illegal at the federal level to transport the herb across state lines. You can learn more about the laws about smoking weed and using cannabis in Connecticut by contacting the state's Department of Consumer Protection.