Here Are The 37 States Where Marijuana Paraphernalia Is Still Illegal

The marijuana legalization movement is gaining momentum across the country. But even though 8 states have legalized recreational use and another 22 allow medical marijuana, the vast majority of states still have laws on the books prohibiting cannabis paraphernalia like bongs, pipes, cultivation equipment and other materials used to consume or grow marijuana.

Here are the 37 states where marijuana paraphernalia is still illegal, ranked from most lenient to most ruthless punishments using information provided by NORML.

Maryland

Possessing cannabis paraphernalia in the Old Line State is a civil offense punishable with a fine of up to $100 for the first infraction.

Nebraska

Getting caught with paraphernalia in the Cornhusker State is an infraction carrying a fine of up to $100 for the first time and between $200 to $500 for subsequent offenses. 

Vermont

In the Green Mountain State, possessing cannabis paraphernalia is a civil offense punishable with a fine of up to $200.

Minnesota

The North Star State considers paraphernalia possession a 'petty misdemeanor,' meaning you'll face no jail time and a fine of no more than $300 for getting busted.

South Carolina

If you get caught with paraphernalia in the Palmetto State, you'll face a civil citation that comes with a fine of up to $500.

Ohio

In the Buckeye State, possession of paraphernalia is a minor misdemeanor punishable with a max. fine of $150 and the possibility of having your driver's license suspended and community service added to your sentence.

Texas

Admit it: you weren't expecting to see the Lone Star State this high up on the list. But paraphernalia charges are at least one thing that isn't bigger in Texas, where offenders get a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500.

Wisconsin

In the Badger State, possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable with up to 30 days in jail or a max. fine of $500.

South Dakota

The Mount Rushmore State treats paraphernalia possession as a misdemeanor worth up to 30 days in jail and a max. fine of $500.

North Carolina

Possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor carrying a sentence of 1-45 days in jail and a max. fine of $1,000 in the Tar Heel State. Yes, "tar heel," a derogatory term for North Carolinians that has since become the state nickname.  

Connecticut

Getting busted with cannabis paraphernalia in the Constitution State counts as a civil infraction carrying a fine of up to $300 — so long as you only intend to smoke half an ounce or less. But if it looks like you're trying to smoke more than that, you'll get slapped with a misdemeanor punishable with up to 3 months in jail and a max. fine of $500.

So stick with a one-hitter if you're toking in Connecticut. 

Delaware

The First State is a bit more lenient than Connecticut when it comes to how much you can plan to smoke before getting a hefty charge. But the penalty for breaking that limit is much harsher.

Getting caught with the fixings to toke an ounce of cannabis or less in Delaware is a civil penalty that comes with a fine of up to $100. But if it looks like your sesh will exceed an ounce, you could be charged with a misdemeanor carrying a punishment of up to 6 months in jail and a max. fine of $1,000.

Illinois

The Prairie John Hughes State is even stingier about how much you smoke. Getting caught with 10 grams or less is a civil violation that carries a max. fine of $200. But if you're busted with more than 10 g's (just over a third of an ounce), you'll face a misdemeanor punishable with up to 1 year in prison and a fine ranging from $750 to $2,500.  

Mississippi

Regardless of how much you intend to smoke, getting caught with paraphernalia in the Magnolia State is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500. A second offence will get you up to a year in jail and a max. fine of $2,000.

Montana

The Treasure State treats possession of paraphernalia as a misdemeanor carrying a punishment of up to 6 months in jail and a max. fine of $500.

Missouri

Don't show off your paraphernalia in the Show-Me State or you'll wind up getting slapped with a misdemeanor punishable with up to 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.

Wyoming

In the Equality State, possessing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable with up to 6 months in jail and a max. fine of $750. 

Iowa

Getting caught with paraphernalia in the Hawkeye State is a misdemeanor carrying a punishment of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

New Jersey

People caught with pot paraphernalia in the Garden State are charged with a "disorderly persons offense" that comes with a sentence of up to 6 months in jail and a max. fine of $1,000.

Utah

In the Beehive State, paraphernalia possession is a misdemeanor punishable with up to 6 months in jail and a max. fine of $1,000.

New Mexico

The Land of Enchantment treats paraphernalia possession as a misdemeanor worthy of up to a year in prison and a fine of $50 to $100.

Kentucky

The Bluegrass State doesn't care for the green. Getting caught with paraphernalia in Kentucky gets you a misdemeanor carrying a sentence of up to one year in prison and a max. fine of $500. 

Florida

Possession of cannabis paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable with up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine in the Sunshine State.

Georgia

Possessing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor carrying a penalty of up to a year in jail and a max. fine of $1,000 for the first offence in the Peach State. Subsequent offenses are subject to increased penalties.

New Hampshire

The Granite State considers paraphernalia possession a misdemeanor meriting a sentence of up to a year in jail and a max. fine of $2,000. 

Tennessee

In the Volunteer State, paraphernalia possession is a misdemeanor carrying a sentence of up to a year in prison and a fine between $150 - $2,500. The minimum fine rises to $250 for a second offense.

Pennsylvania

Getting caught with paraphernalia in the Keystone State is a misdemeanor punishable with up to a year in jail and a max. fine of $2,500.

North Dakota

In the Peace Garden State, possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor carrying a sentence of up to a year in jail and a max. fine of $3,000.

Oklahoma

Anyone caught with cannabis paraphernalia in the Sooner State faces up to a year in jail. The max. fines are $1,000 for a first offense, $5,000 for a second and $10,000 for a third.

New York

Paraphernalia laws are a little off-balance in the Empire State. Getting caught with scales or balances used for weighing marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable with a year in prison for a first offense. A second offense will get you charged with a felony carrying a sentence of up to 7 years and max. fine of $5,000.

Idaho

The Gem State's paraphernalia possession laws are similar to other jurisdictions, but it's one of the last places you'd want to start up a paraphernalia business. Get caught with paraphernalia and you'll face up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine for a misdemeanor offence.

But if you get busted selling or manufacturing paraphernalia in Idaho, you could wind up in prison for 9 years and slapped with a fine of up to $30,000. So don't even try MacGyver-ing a bong out of a Red Bull can while you're there.

Arkansas

The Natural State isn't too harsh on paraphernalia unless you have a green thumb. Getting busted with a pipe could get you up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. But if you get caught with cultivation equipment, you're looking at up to 6 years in prison plus a $10,000 fine.

Alabama

Like Arkansas, the Cotton State doesn't take kindly to marijuana growers. Getting busted with a bong could get you slapped with a misdemeanor punishable with up to one year in jail and a max. fine of $6,000 fine. But if you get caught with equipment to grow cannabis, you'll face anywhere from a year-and-a-day to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.

Kansas

Add the Sunflower State to the list of jurisdictions that hate marijuana gardening. Getting caught with paraphernalia used to grow 5 plants or more is a felony that comes with a sentence of 5 to 17 months in jail and a whopping fine of up to $100,000. Other paraphernalia violations are considered misdemeanors carrying punishments of up to a year in prison and a $2,500 fine. 

Indiana

The Hoosier State is a great place to be if your wallet needs to lose some weight. If you get busted with pot paraphernalia once, you won't face jail time but you could get fined up to $10,000. And if you get busted a second time, you'll get charged with a felony punishable with 6 months to 2.5 years in prison plus another fine of up to $10,000.

Hawaii

The Aloha State might seem super chill since it's the home of luaus, grass skirts, ukuleles and Willie Nelson. But Hawaii is actually super uptight about possessing cannabis paraphernalia, which is a felony offense that can get you up to 5 years in prison plus a max. fine of $10,000.

Arizona

If you're looking to offload some old bongs on Craigslist, don't do it in the Grand Canyon State. If you get caught possessing or advertising paraphernalia, you'll get charged with a felony punishable with no less than 4 months and no more than 2 years in jail as well as a fine ranging anywhere from $1,000 to $150,000.

Latest.

It’s no secret that stress, packed schedules and the drama of everyday life can take a toll on our minds. But taking a needed brain break can revive your spirit, allowing you to more confidently take on whatever’s in front of you. Giving yourself the time and space to get your brain the rest it needs can make you calmer, less reactive and happier as a result.