In a move that's either long-overdue, or totally-creepy in an Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind kinda way, Facebook now allows you to edit your memories.

Facebook's "On This Day" feature is intended to make users misty with nostalgia for whatever they were doing in past years. Instead, some were besieged by painful reminders of people and things they'd rather forget: exes, lost friends, and deceased loved ones.

Facebook has responded with new settings to make the past a little more palatable. Log into Facebook, go to "Apps," then "On This Day," and then "Preferences" to start erasing whoever and whatever you want from your digital memory. Filter out memories with certain people, in certain months, or even block out reminders of entire years of your life.

Unfortunately, no such feature has yet been developed for your actual brain, which will still reliably torment you with undesired, embarrassing memories even if Facebook fails to do so.

Or you can always just disable notifications for "On This Day" altogether, and forge bravely onward, into the future.